Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Northern Plains District 2-Hour Intro to Kingian Nonviolence

February 3 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm CST

Free

Join the Northern Plains District Board of the Church of the Brethren on February 3rd at 1 PM CT / 2 PM ET / 12 PM MT / 11 AM PT on Zoom for an introductory training in Kingian Nonviolence and nonviolent conflict resolution. Arising from Martin Luther King, Jr. and the leadership of the Black-led US Civil Rights Movement, Kingian non-violence is “agape love in action” and may be used to solve personal and community problems. Our facilitators, Katie Shaw Thompson and Thomas Dowdy, will discuss the core of the Kingian Nonviolence Legacy and share stories from their own lives and ministries and the broader Movement.

This 2 Hour webinar covers:

  • The “4 pillars” of Kingian Nonviolence provided in the context of the Movement
  • Initial introduction to the 6 Principles with connections to real-life scenarios
  • The Social Dynamics of Kingian Nonviolence to better understand the dynamics that nonviolence practitioners navigate to develop powerful initiatives